Susilani

Portrait shot of Susilani
Scholarships 
Study in Australia's Northern Territory Scholarship
Year 
2018

Hi my name is Susilani, I’m 24 years of age and I’m from a little island called Kioa in Fiji. I first came to Darwin in June 2018 and have found it very easy to adjust to life here as I had family here and it reminded me so much of home.

I originally came to Darwin explore my options with studying, as I was unable to complete my duties in Fiji due to financial hardship. I had to leave school to work and support my family. My aunty that lives in Darwin came over to Fiji to visit me and my family and asked me what’s my dream job and instantly I replied I want to help the elderly people in our community.

I visited a few organisations and BCA National was the best suite for me so I went and enrolled into the Certificate IV in Ageing Support. Which so far has been a very interesting course and I’m glad to be completing this course here in Darwin.

So far I have really enjoyed Darwin because the weather is very similar to my country, Darwin embraces all different types of culture, and it’s very easy to get around because we are a small city.

My goal is to gain knowledge in the industry throughout my work placement, so that when I return back to my country and provide the knowledge I have gained to my people and help with the community. I feel that my entire experience has made me a stronger and more independent women.

I would recommend students to do a course through BCA National, it has been a great experience so far and I find that the people that work here are very helpful especially my training coordinator.

I would like to thank StudyNT and BCA National for this opportunity and allowing me to study and gain the knowledge for my future so that I can go back home and provide my knowledge to the people.